el84 vs. ecl82

How can you get a great tone without a good understanding of what makes your amp tick? — EL34, EL84, 6L6, KT66, KT88, 12AX7, 12AT7, 12AU7, EF86, Output Transformers, Power Transformers, Capacitors, Resistors and everything else that it takes to make a tube amp sing!

el84 vs. ecl82

Postby howling_mad on Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:20 am

Okay, here's another question from a novice. I'm studying up in preparation for building my own amp. I played an amp not long ago that was running 4 el84s. The thing had some great tone, but too much gain for me. I read that that amp's preamp circuit was designed to be high gain, so I considered building my amp with 4 el84s, and just modifying the preamp, but then I read some things in one of the boards here about amps running ecl82s. They were all low wattage, but only ran 2 ECL82s. I figured that if I ran a quad, I could get close to 25 watts out of it. Also, I was first introduced to the ecl82 by an old Roberts reel to reel deck I have.

Does anyone have anymore details about the characteristics of this tube, especially compared to el84s. The sockets are the same, so I figure that if I tried the ecl82s, and didn't like them, I could do some (or a lot) of re-wiring, and then switch.

Thanks.
Andy
howling_mad
Peasant

Re: el84 vs. ecl82

Postby Green on Tue Jan 25, 2005 1:11 pm

Look at Duncan's amp pages for tube data. The ECL82 has a triode and a power pentode in it, the EL84 is a power pentode only.

I've heard that the ECL86 is a better swap for an EL84 application, although an ECL82 should work if set up correctly.

I don't know what you'd do with the triodes though. Normally for a push-pull amp you have 2 ECL86s and use the two triodes as a phase splitter but if you're using 4 of these valves you have two spare triodes...

Ed
Green
Knight

Postby howling_mad on Tue Jan 25, 2005 2:13 pm