Ampeg Gemini 2???

Small combos like Mercury and Jet, Jess Oliver's fliptop Portaflex, the Gemini, Echotwin, B25, V4, VT22 up to the 300 watt SVT

Ampeg Gemini 2???

Postby kgirard3 on Mon Jun 25, 2012 6:16 pm

Hi all, allow me to introduce myself as I am new to this blog. My name is Kevin, I'm 54 years old and started playing Guitar 2 years ago. I use 2000 American deluxe Strat pluged into a Fender Hotrod Amp. I was just faced with the daunting chore of moving my father into a nursing home which required getting rid of most of his possessions. One of the items I inherited was the Amplifier shown below. I am trying to determine what I have. It says Gemini but is not in the classic blue checked case and it only says Ampeg on the black foot switch that is hard wired to the effect box in the amp. Everything I found on line said Ampeg on the amp but not this one. I pulled the back case looking for a series number or something. All I found was: it has a 15 inch speaker with an EIS number of 220703 which I take to mean 220=Jenson; 7= 1967 model ; and 03= 3rd week of the year. The number 8518 was also on the speaker and the effects box had majic marker on iron several places that said 304287 and the name B McClellan. I could not find any other serial numbers or plates on it. I tried to look it up on line and was getting confused and questioned the credibility of some of the info I was reading as someone said the black case amps had PCB's ( printed circuit boards) but I looked it over and saw nothing but wires, solder and tubes. ( did they even have PCB's I'm 1967?) . I'm sure my dad still has the documentation the amp came with but I haven't gone through their papers yet. My Dad was very anal concerning his musical instruments and as a kid I remember this amp in our living room always covered ( It still is and the cover has nbers on the inside of it written with majic marker as well) my dad never used the amp to gig with and yes... He actually bought it to play his accordi