Planning to build my first amp

Bandmaster, Bassman, Champ, Concert, Deluxe, Harvard, Princeton, Pro, Super, Tremolux, Twin, Vibrasonic, Vibrolux, Vibroverb and others

Planning to build my first amp

Postby paw on Thu Jun 16, 2016 8:56 pm

Hi good people of Vintage Amps board! New guy here.

I want to build an amplifier and have never done so before. I have some experience with electronics, constructing, soldering and making circuits. I don't have equipment to etch circuits at this point, but I have a fluke multimeter that handles 600 V. I have soldering equipment but the tip is really thick so I will probably get a new soldering station for this project. Recommendations are welcome.

I'm not quite set on what amp (circuit) I want to make, but I want low wattage (15-40 W) and a circuit that breaks up nicely (the '65 in this video sounds pretty good https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KI9l7l2eugk). My Mesa does clean and distorted well but isn't as good at low gain breakup stuff. I'm thinking classic Fender right now but classic Marshall may also be good. A circuit with master volume would be practical as I want to use the amp for recording, but I'll be open to scrap it if people think it somehow compromises the amplifier.

I understand schematics but really have no clue how to organize (construct) the whole build, and I have no idea how to make the chassis. Any advice or good links out there?

So could you help me...
1. (suggest) pick an amp/circuit
2. pick a good soldering station
3. understand how to organise and construct the whole thing

Any advice will be much appreciated!
paw
Peasant

Re: Planning to build my first amp

Postby stratele52 on Fri Jun 17, 2016 8:45 am

Before you start to build a amp, you should learn how to solder. It is not easy as people think. You have to pratice few hours on a pieces of old wire.
You have to know not to burn( destroy ) resistor or capacitor when soldering