SC200+ A&B Outputs

20 Studio, 50+, 50PA, 50R, L100, B100, L120, L120PA, L120R, 120 SLAVE, B120, B150, L150, L200, B200, Concord, and SMF

SC200+ A&B Outputs

Postby Vucinic on Thu Apr 21, 2016 8:14 am

Hi all,

Can someone explain to me how works 2 X A and 2 X B outputs at SC 200+ MARK IV?
It is better to attach two cabs 2X12 one in A and one in B, or one 4X12 in one A or B and it is any difference.

Thanks

Bozo
Vucinic
Peasant
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:21 pm
Location: Skopje, Macedonia, EU

Re: SC200+ A&B Outputs

Postby partsstan on Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:06 pm

Hi; On my 200plus you must have two plugs in a or b to to open the circuit. It doesn't make any difference which you choose. The probable reason for requiring two cabinets is that SC cabs could not handle 200 watts so they designed it to require two to function. If you have a single cab that can handle the power safely you can use a dummy plug and one cab, but be sure to match the impedence. I hope this helps. Stan :jam: :jam: :jam:
partsstan
Court Jester
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 4:35 pm
Location: RIVERCITY,CA.

Re: SC200+ A&B Outputs

Postby Papa Dog on Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:32 am

what Stan said is essentially correct.
Without modding the output (easy enough to do...just pull the jumper between the two on a and between the two on b...puts all four in parallel)
you must choose 1 from A and 1 from B
Both cabs should be the same (2x12 or 4x12)
and both should have the same impedance.
Or, one cab and a "dummy" plug
or one stereo cab, one side into A and one side into B

The cabs (speakers really) available when these amps were built could not handle the power.
4x25-50 watt drivers cannot handle 200+ watts.
At least not and survive long.
So...2x120 watt cabs worked...4x12 watt cabs worked better
I am running 2 SC4x12s and 2 Sunn 412s cabs...sound clips might happen soonish..
There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch.

"The time has come," the Walrus said,
"To talk of many things:
Of shoes--and ships--and sealing-wax--
Of cabbages--and kings--"
Papa Dog
Knight
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:48 pm
Location: Narly Ampwerks

Re: SC200+ A&B Outputs

Postby partsstan on Sun May 01, 2016 5:30 am

Hi again; The Sound City Site says you must use 1from a and 1from b but I have had 3 200s a mark 3 and 2mark 4s. The mark 3 uses 1 from a and 1 from b, but my 200 plus uses 2 in a or 2 in b. The 200 r mark 4 is marked main instead of a and auxiliary instead of b and uses 2 in either instead of 1 in each. Anyone else have the same type of connections? :D :D :D :D
partsstan
Court Jester
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 4:35 pm
Location: RIVERCITY,CA.

Re: SC200+ A&B Outputs

Postby Vucinic on Sun May 01, 2016 5:56 am

Thanks people,

So it's not good to use only one output. I must make to inputs on my 4x12 or buy + another one :)
Vucinic
Peasant
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:21 pm
Location: Skopje, Macedonia, EU

Re: SC200+ A&B Outputs

Postby Papa Dog on Mon May 02, 2016 12:47 am

partsstan wrote:Hi again; The Sound City Site says you must use 1from a and 1from b but I have had 3 200s a mark 3 and 2mark 4s. The mark 3 uses 1 from a and 1 from b, but my 200 plus uses 2 in a or 2 in b. The 200 r mark 4 is marked main instead of a and auxiliary instead of b and uses 2 in either instead of 1 in each. Anyone else have the same type of connections? :D :D :D :D

Sran,
every schematic that I have or have seen shows the two in a jumpered and the two in b jumpered such that if there is not something plugged into either of the pair in a or b there is a direct short to ground.
I would have to see gut shots of the outputs to understand how the amps you have are wired.
Could be that the jumpers were omitted and two cabs are recommended for power handling.
OTOH, Sound City did some strange and interesting things. Some make sense and others, not so much.
In the 200+ I have on the bench, two in either a or b and none in the other would result in NO sound output at all.
There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch.

"The time has come," the Walrus said,
"To talk of many things:
Of shoes--and ships--and sealing-wax--
Of cabbages--and kings--"
Papa Dog
Knight
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:48 pm
Location: Narly Ampwerks

Re: SC200+ A&B Outputs

Postby Vucinic on Tue May 17, 2016 2:44 pm

Thanks everyone, I looked inside and all 4 outputs are in parallel. From here I now how.

thanks again
Vucinic
Peasant
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:21 pm
Location: Skopje, Macedonia, EU


Return to Sound City

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests